Categories
Blog

Having Fun On A Budget

Hello everyone! If this is not your first time reading my blog, you already know that my posts evolve around self growth, positivity and the journey to become the best version of yourself. I have reached a new mile stone in my own journey and have a special announcement this week: I HAVE OFFICIALLY STARTED MT FIRST PODCAST! My podcast’s name is Having Fun On A Budget: The Complete Guidance For Broke College Students and all it talks about is fun activities you can do on your free time that wouldn’t hurt your wallet! (although the name implies otherwise, anyone who is looking for fun budget friendly activity is welcomed to join this journey, not only college students). This is a topic that is very important to me due to the high stress levels that living under a strict budget can cause, that is why I chose to share with you fun, destress and budget friendly activities to help relief that stress! Please join me in my podcast journey and see the lovely, mostly costless activities you can incorporate in your free time!

Strict Budgets and Stress

As a financially independent college students in her 20’s, I sued to have a very hard time fitting all of my expenses under my strict budget: which lead to A LOT of stress. As ou know, stress is very bad for our health. It can lead to many medical conditions and realy harm your quality of one’s life

“Stress that’s left unchecked can contribute to many health problems, such as high blood pressure, heart disease, obesity and diabetes”.

-Mayo Clinic Staff

After i realized how much stress my budget caused me, I realized that some things must change. In the past, I used to believe that in order to pay for my expenses I should give up on the “less important” things in my life; such as the expenses of social activities. I am a very social dependent person and giving up all the things that I used to do with my friends (such as going out, eating at restaurants, going to the movie theatre, etc..) have taken a great tool on my mental health and put me in a constant stress situation- which was even worse than the stress that my budget caused me. That is when I decided to start looking for fun activities to do with people that would be either costless or require a very minimum amount of money. Since I started to explore with this type of activities with my friends, my stress levels have significantly reduced and I started to have the same amount of fun I used to have before, without being worried about the money I am spending! That is why I have decided to start my podcast and share with you all the wonderful activities I came up with so you could enjoy yourself on your free time without having to stress about the money that you are spending!

Stress can lead to many harmful side effects and it is important to find ways to reduce it! Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels.com

Peep View Into My Podcast

My podcast is goin to be consisted of weekly episodes that address fun, budget friendly activities for different occasions or places every week (such as anniversary celebrations, birthday parties or regular family gatherings, etc…)! This week’s podcast post concerns fun things to do around campus with your friends on a budget! One of the activities I have brought up in that podcast is hosting themed movie nights! I LOVE going to the movie theater with friends! But lately movie tickets have started to be a bit too expensive for my budget and that is why my friends and I came up with our weekly themed movie celebrations! Every Thursday night we meet up at someones house, apartment or college dorms (this hangout can take place almost everywhere, all you need to have is a TV or a computer that you could stream the movie on!) and choose which movie we are going to watch i advance. Then, after the movie is selected, each person has o dress up as one of the characters from the movie and bring a snack that is related to the movie. Then we all watch the movie together, eat, talk, laugh and have a great time 🙂 BONUS POINT: we love to do costume competitions between all the people that dressed up as characters from the movie- this is just an hilarious extra activity. For example, last week we all watched Charlie In The Chocolate Factory, dressed up as the kids from the movie, and baked a chocolate cake:) This is a great, fun and budget friendly alternative to the movie theater!

Hosting themed movie nights is a great budget-friendly activity to do with your friends! Photo by Ron Lach on Pexels.com

Having Fun On A Budget: The Complete Guidance For Broke College Students- Episode One

If you enjoyed reading this blog post and liked my themed movie night example, I highly recommend listening to my podcast episode! This episode contains many more budget friendly activities that would help you maximize your fun amount while minimizing your stress amount. If the topic of stress reduction and positive mind set is something that interests you, I have incorporated my friend’s Iman Anwar podcast promo which is called the Positivity Podcast into my episode, you should defiantly check her podcast on your free time as well!

EPISODE ONE: HAVING FUN ON A BUDGET ON CAMPUS

By Sapir Levinhar Be

Human Resources Management and Psychology Major at Rutgers University

Leave a comment