Categories
Blog

Every End Is a New Beginning

As the temperature drop, and the holidays season approach, this semester is slowly coming to an end- and the class that have launched this blog and crazy journey, Strategic Presentation, is about to be over. I wanted to dedicate this blog post to reflect on that class and talk about all the important things and skills I have acquired from it throughout the semester 🙂

As a Human Resources Management and Psychology major who’s interested in becoming an HR director, being a blog owner was probably the last thing on my mind. I have never saw myself as a good writer and saw essay assignments as “torture” up until this semester. I have signed up to strategic presentation after a friend have recommended me to try out Digital, Communication, Information and Media classes, not knowing if this is a direction I would like to approach in my college journey.

On the first day of class, we went over the syllabus together; and that is when I learned that this class requires weekly blog posts on WordPress. The first thing that came up to my mind was “oh god” but I like challenges so I decided to give it a try- and little did I know that not only I would learn so much from this class and connect into my inner writer, this class would also become my favorite class this semester.

One of the requirments for this class was to post weekly blog posts. Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

On my first blog assignments, I remember myself sitting and staring at my computer screen for 15 minutes straight without even putting one word down into my document. I had no idea what should I write about, how do blogs even work and how am I supposed to even design one. But on that week we were introduced to this wonderful website- WordPress. We learned together how to navigate it, how to edit our blog posts, what makes a blog “worth reading”” and etc. As the weeks have passed, I could feel my writing abilities improving from class to class. At the end I got to a point where I could easily write 8 paragraphs about everything or nothing without even thinking! I have never imagined that I would find writing so comforting, easy and enjoyable until I started this class! I will forever be grateful for this ability.

Another assignment we had in this class was to film a tutorial video.Photo by Ron Lach on Pexels.com

As I mentioned in previous posts, I am an immigrant and English is not my first language. I have always been afraid that people would judge my intelligence based on my accent or my common grammar mistakes, and that is why I always had a stage fright. Managing the blog was not as bad as I thought, since nobody needs to see my face behind the screen. But that is when we approached the next two projects: creating a tutorial video on youtube and a podcast about a topic of our choice. I was terrified and had no idea how to approach any of this assignments, especially since I had zero experience in video or audio editing. Thankfully, we have spent a few classes learning how to edit both videos and their audio, and turned out that it was less complicated than what I thought it would be! I really enjoyed editing both of my video and podcast and really liked the results I had- but more than that, I acquired new helpful and really cool skills!

Our last assignment was to create a 10 minute long podcast video. Photo by Magda Ehlers on Pexels.com

No class have pushed me out of my comfort zone like this one before, and I cannot express how thankful I am for that. My sophomore year self would have laughed if I told her that now we are able to talk in English for 10 minutes straight in a podcast, or actually enjoy writing now. I have learned that I am capable of many more intellectual things than what I have though I am and acquired many new skills such as the ability to build a website, customize my pages, learn what are the key factors for a successful site, audio editing skills, video editing skills, and many MANY more! If you are looking for an interesting course that would push you to learn new skills and go out of your comfort zone like me, I highly recommend trying this course out!

“In the end, there is no end”.

Robert Lowell

As stated above and in the caption of this post, at the end there is no end and endings are just the start of new begging. Even though the semester is over and this class is coming for an end, I am very excited to carry the skills I have acquired in this class for future projects, assignments, different challenges and every day life! and i am more that excited to continue my journey in the DCIM field, as this class convinced me to turn this subject into my minor!

By Sapir Levinhar Be

Human Resources Management and Psychology Major at Rutgers University

Leave a comment